Open Access Open Access  Restricted Access Subscription Access

The Transboundary Landscape of the EU-Schengen Border

Maunu Häyrynen


The theme of this dossier of the Journal of Borderlands Studies is the transboundary landscape of the Schengen border. The Schengen border refers to the common external border of those European countries that signed the Schengen Agreement (1985/1990), which in 1999 became integrated in European Union (EU) legislation. The aim of the agreement is to create a zone of free movement, the so-called Schengen area, between the signatories and to harmonize the area's external border-control arrangements. It now comprises most of the EU member countries, excluding the United Kingdom, Ireland, Romania, and Bulgaria but including the non-members Norway, Iceland, and Switzerland. Besides Romania and Bulgaria, the Schengen area currently borders with Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Turkey, Croatia, Serbia, Macedonia (FYROM), and Albania outside the EU. Russia had become a neighbor of the area in 2001, when Finland joined the agreement. A more dramatic shift took place with the extension of the land area that occurred with the addition of new member states (Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Czech, Slovakia, Hungary, and Slovenia) in December 2007 (see DeBardeleben 2005, 6-8).

Full Text:


All rights reserved
Print ISSN: 0886-5655
Online ISSN: 2159-1229